Georgia PTA members elect a representative board of directors to manage the business of the association every two years at the spring annual meeting during the Convention and Leadership Training. The board of directors is charged on behalf of all Georgia PTA members, with the fiduciary duty and oversight of the largest child advocacy organization in the state of Georgia. In addition to the volunteer board positions, Georgia PTA is managed with the help of a small and efficient staff. The Georgia PTA Board of Directors is composed of:

  • Executive Committee
  • District Directors
  • Standing Committee Chairs
  • Specialist | Special Committee Chairs (Non-Voting)

Board Members: Request reimbursement on expenses using this form.
Quarterly Reports can be filled out by accessing this web form, or by downloading the form.

Executive Committee

Shanda Ross (D7) President sross@georgiapta.org
Anita Hagins Jones (D9) President-Elect ahjones@georgiapta.org
Tanya Smith (D11) 1st Vice President tsmith@georgiapta.org
Tara Surratt (D10) 2nd Vice President tsurratt@georgiapta.org
John Martin (D10) Secretary jmartin@georgiapta.org
Tynettia Elrod (D9) Treasurer telrod@georgiapta.org

District Directors

District 3 Director – Terri Bennett district3@georgiapta.org
District 4 Director – Sam Shehane district4@georgiapta.org
District 6 Director – Michele Smith district6@georgiapta.org
District 7 Director – Sidney Richardson (Interim)district7@georgiapta.org
District 8 Director – Charlotte Burton-Williams (Interim) district8@georgiapta.org
District 9 Director– Cynthia Starke-Jones district9@georgiapta.org
District 10 Director – William Davis district10@georgiapta.org
District 11 Director– Valencia Johnson district11@georgiapta.org
District 12 Director -Marcia Cristal district12@georgiapta.org
District 13 Director-Brenda Page district13@georgiapta.org

Committee Chairs

Membership Co-ChairVacant (North Georgia) membership@georgiapta.org
Membership Co-ChairVacant (Middle Georgia) membership@georgiapta.org
Membership Co-Chair – Ivy Nguyen (South Georgia) membership@georgiapta.org
Bylaws Chair– Tina Kelly bylaws@georgiapta.org
Family Engagement Chair– Priscilla Borders familyengagement@georgiapta.org
Legislative Chair -Heather Scalzetti legislation@georgiapta.org
Reflections Chair Vacant reflections@georgiapta.org
Health & Wellness Chair– Dr. Omar Danner healthwellness@georgiapta.org
Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) ChairРGarry Lowe  dei@georgiapta.org
Oversight and Accountability Committee Chair – Tyler L. Barr oac@georgiapta.org

Advisors

Otha Thornton othornton@georgiapta.org
Leroy “Tre” Hutchins lhutchins@georgiapta.org

National PTA Office

(800) 307-4782 (toll-free)
1250 N Pitt Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
info@pta.org

National PTA Board Member