Georgia PTA members elect a representative board of directors to manage the business of the association every two years at the spring annual meeting during the Convention and Leadership Training. The board of directors is charged on behalf of all Georgia PTA members, with the fiduciary duty and oversight of the largest child advocacy organization in the state of Georgia. In addition to the volunteer board positions, Georgia PTA is managed with the help of a small and efficient staff. The Georgia PTA Board of Directors is composed of:

  • Executive Committee
  • District Directors
  • Standing Committee Chairs
  • Specialist | Special Committee Chairs (Non-Voting)

Board Members: Request reimbursement on expenses using this form.
Quarterly Reports can be filled out by accessing this web form, or by downloading the form.

Executive Committee

Anita Hagins Jones (D9) President-Elect
Tanya Smith (D11) 1st Vice President
Tara Surratt (D10) 2nd Vice President
John Martin (D10) Secretary
Tynettia Elrod (D9) Treasurer

District Directors

District 3 Director – Terri Bennett
District 4 Director – Sam Shehane
District 6 Director – Michele Smith
District 7 Director – Sidney Richardson (Interim)
District 8 Director – Charlotte Burton-Williams (Interim)
District 9 Director– Cynthia Starke-Jones
District 10 Director – William Davis
District 11 Director– Valencia Johnson
District 12 Director -Marcia Cristal
District 13 Director-Brenda Page

Committee Chairs

Membership Co-ChairVacant (North Georgia)
Membership Co-ChairVacant (Middle Georgia)
Membership Co-Chair – Ivy Nguyen (South Georgia)
Bylaws Chair– Tina Kelly
Family Engagement Chair– Priscilla Borders
Legislative Chair -Heather Scalzetti
Reflections Chair Vacant
Health & Wellness Chair– Dr. Omar Danner
Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Chair– Garry Lowe
Oversight and Accountability Committee Chair – Tyler L. Barr


Otha Thornton
Leroy “Tre” Hutchins

National PTA Office

(800) 307-4782 (toll-free)
1250 N Pitt Street
Alexandria, VA 22314

National PTA Board Member